4-Way race for UDP leader


After months of anticipation, a date has been set for a convention to select a new leader for the United Democratic Party. Following consultations, Sunday, July 12, 2020 has been set for voting to take place at the ITVET in Belize City. While a time is yet to be set, it is believed that it will be like most convention starting sometime in mid-morning and ending by mid afternoon.
While originally five candidates had submitted their names for the position, one of the candidates, Hon. Dr. Omar Figueroa has since withdrawn his candidacy. This now leaves Area Representatives, Hon. Patrick Faber, Hon. John Saldivar, Hon. Wilfred Elrington and President of the Senate, Hon. Darrell Bradley still in the race.
A total of 570 delegates will cast their ballots on convention day. These are made up of, among others, area representatives, standard bearers, constituency committee officers, senators, elected municipal councilors and other party officials.