Verdes FC National Football Champions


jaret davis.jpg - 106.18 KbThe Premier League of Belize Closing Season Tournament came to an end on Sunday 17th May, 2015, at the Norman Broaster Stadium in San Ignacio Town.

In the second and final game of the championship series, the home team Verdes FC blanked the defending champions and the competition’s favourite the Belmopan Bandits by the score of 2-0 to capture the National Football Title and the right to represent Belize in the CONCACAF Champion’s League to be played later this year.

The Verdes FC got on the scoreboard when Alcides Thomas scored the 1st goal of the game in the 31st minute of play to give his team a 1-0 lead. The budding champions took that lead into the half time of the game.

In the second half of the game, Verdes’ defence maintained its composure and defended its lead well into the second half of the game when it was assured the victory when Jarret Davis scored his team winning goal in the 90? minute of the game for the 2-0 win.

And at the end of the long whistle it was indeed a 2-0 victory for the Verdes FC.

At the end of the championship game, the Premier League of Belize presented the championship awards, which included the Individual Awards.

The Best Defender Award – Dalton Eiley  (Belmopan Bandits)
Best Midfielder Award – Jordy Polanco (Belmopan Bandits)
Best Forward Award – Harrison Roches (Police United)
Most Goals – Harrison Roches (Police United)
Best Goalkeeper (Regular Season) – Woodrow West (Belmopan Bandits)
Most Valuable Player (Regular Season) – Shamir Pacheco (Verdes)
MVP (Semi-finals) – Jarret Davis (Verdes FC)