Belizeans receives award from Royal Family Print E-mail
( 1 Vote )
Written by Administrator   
Friday, 10 May 2019 00:00

Several Belizeans were awarded under the Duke of Edingburgh’s International Award on Tuesday at the George Price Center for Peace and Development. Present for this occasion were representatives from Mexico, the Organization of American States and the British High Commission.

Formed by the Royal Family as a response to many children losing their parents during World War Two, the challenge now known also as the International Youth Award offers skills and new experiences.

Ms. Cynthia Ellis Topsey, has been voluntarily championing the award in Belize for a number of years. During the award ceremony on Tuesday, Topsey reminded that it is about giving back to others, in addition to the physical recreation and adventures on the Hummingbird Highway and down South which have attracted young people from Dangriga to Benque Viejo to take up the challenge.

Principal among the awardees on Tuesday was Supreme Court Justice, Courtenay Abel, who now becomes the only Judge in the America’s to receive the internationally recognized award. (Justice Courtney Abel was appointed to act as a Supreme Court Judge in Belize on October 22, 2012.)  There to award him was the Governor General Sir Colville Norbert Young with British High Commissioner to Belize Claire Evans (Order of British Empire) looking on.

As described by a prominent educator on Tuesday, even with the current urban warfare that has left many fatherless, the International Youth award offers many viable options. Judge Abel has in the past urged our young men to take up the Youth award challenge.

The Duke of Edingburgh’s International Award Foundation and The Duke of  Edingburgh’s International Award was started in 1956 by his royal highness the Duke of Edingburgh. It is the number one non formal Education Program in the World. It operates in 130 territories around the World. There are presently 1.4 million young people doing the award.

The award is open to young adults between the ages of 14 to 25 and it has three levels-- bronze, silver and gold. In each level the young people have to do four activities. They have to do service in the community, play a sport, learn a skill and they have to do an adventurous journey.  The difference of the three levels is age, you have to be 14 years old to do the bronze, 15 years to do the silver and over 16 years to do the gold. There are also differences in time commitment for participants do to do each of these awards.

Last Updated on Friday, 10 May 2019 10:39