New executive for Belize History Association Print E-mail
( 0 Votes )
Written by Administrator   
Thursday, 12 April 2018 00:00

On Saturday April 7, 2018, the Belize History Association (BHA) elected its 2018-2020 Executive Board at its General Membership Meeting in Belmopan City. This resulted in the new appointment of two junior members, Ms. Mariela Coc and Ms. Karla Pinelo, who are tasked to lead the active involvement of youths in the organization. Other members on the board were re-elected to their position to advance the BHA programs.

The elected Executive Members are as follows:

Chair - Dr. Abigail McKay; Vice Chair - Ms. Ifasina Efunyemi; Senior Members - Ms. Myrna Manzanarez and Mr. Jose Perera.  Junior Members - Ms. Mariela Coc and Ms. Karla Pinelo

The Executive is also comprised of ex-officio members from the Institute for Social and Cultural Research (ISCR NICH), the University of Belize, the Belize Archives Records and Services, and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

A press release from the BHA states that it shall continue to conduct capacity building workshops, national lectures, and paving the way forward for the recording, writing and dissemination of Belize’s history. The work over the next two years will be particularly centered on conducting oral histories.

All Belizeans are part of the BHA. BHA invites you to become an active member by signing up on our BHA website at: or connect with us on Facebook at: